What's new

Diamond Stones Video Interesting To One Newbie. Me!

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
I'm a babe in the wood just learning all sorts of useful and useless stuff about honing. I came across this video, which is mostly for woodworkers I think, on diamond stones. The video was for me helpful and educational. Will it have long term benefits for me as I get into honing the SR? I don't know, but I like learning things.

Is everything he says right? I have no idea. Is he mostly selling something? Maybe, but I'm not sure. Should you use water or the fluid he says to use? How could I know.

proxy.php

Link to the stone on Amazon.

proxy.php

Link to the fluid on Amazon.

Is the fluid useful to SR guys? Are these stones we should have? All these are questions beyond me. I'm just learning random honing stuff and came across a video.

What I do know is I can understand what he's talking about and I learned something watching the video. Does this translate into anything related to honing or of general interest in this community? Maybe so. Maybe not.

upload_2018-9-28_15-19-42.jpeg

Babe in the woods I am.

Happy shaves,

Jim

Lots of inaccuracies or misleading "factoids" in there. Like the claim about 17 micron film thickness with WD40 meaning a diamond hone with 15 micron diamonds won't cut. That's B.S. the WD40 film thickness is a spec about what film thickness the WD40 will settle at when it's sprayed onto something. Doesn't mean it can't be squeezed out when something else is put over the top of it and pressed against the surface. I can hone just fine with WD40 on my 3 micron DMT plate.

I've also used pretty much mostly water (have tried dry and oil also) since I've owned my DMT plates, and there is no sign of any rust anywhere. I have at least 6 plates off the top of my head, probably more. I do dry them when I'm done with them, as I'd expect anyone who cared about their tools to do.