What's new

College student would like some advice...

Hello there, I'm 17, and I'm in my second semester of my first year here at a private school in NYC. I'm not to happy about being here, because when I applied to college back in high school my school of choice rejected me. Now you could say to try for that school, but I don't think it's a smart choice.

I would very much like to attend Columbia University, but I'm not sure I would get in, with my grades and lack of work experience. I'm going to work on my GPA this semester, but I'm still not sure if that would even get me in.

I've never really liked NYC, and I happen to be an Australian citizen. During this winter break I went to three cities in Australia and I decided I really liked it. I could shoot for some universities in either Melbourne and Sydney. Australia has a program where you can either pay a lump sump for school before the 4 years and get 25% off, or pay for it after the 4 years, during which I could put the money in a bank.

I'm originally from Hong Kong, so Australia will be closer to home for me. The only thing stopping me from moving to Australia is the fact that I'm in New York, the city of fast money.

I could completely give up my dreams of Columbia, and go ahead and have a happier college experience in Australia (less of a financial burden, closer to home, better weather, relaxed people), or continue living in NY, with the hope that I might one day switch to Columbia.

B&B, what do you think of this?

Have you talked to the admission office at Columbia? If you haven't you should give them a call. Maybe make an appointment to go talk with someone. A fair number of transfers are made after first and second years, but far less after that. Find out what your odds really are. Of course they won't tell you anything for certain. If you really want to go and can afford to do so, go ahead and apply. The worst they could do is to say no.