What's new

Brush Chronicles #11: Vie-Long; El Caballo Español (The Spanish horse)

Hello everyone, and welcome to the next installment of the Brush Chronicles- the Vie-Long Horse Hair Brush 12705 Natural Brown Hair & 13723 Banded Hair
Before we proceed, I would like to express my thanks and appreciation to David for asking me to participate in this chronicle. I'm not an expert, but fell in love with Vie-Long Horse Hair Brushes in November of 2010 and have owned a total of 11 V-L Horse Hairs. I will be joined by malocchio and TZee and we'll do our best to make it both interesting and informative.

First a little background about Vie-Long and Horse Hairs for those unfamiliar with Vie-Long Horse Hair Brushes:

Vie-Long, S.L. is a family business established in 1940. Since then, it has specialized in manufacturing shaving and make-up brushes for sectors as perfumery, hairdressing or aesthetics. In addition to Horse Hair Brushes, they produce Boar, Badger and Horse/Badger Shaving Brushes as well as a Professional Line of Horse and Horse/Boar Barber Shaving Brushes.

This Discussion will primarily focus on the 12705 Natural Brown Hair & 13723 Banded Hair; the difference between the brushes is the Ratio of Mane/Tail Hairs used in the knot. I had contacted Juan, Proprietor of Gifts & Care, in preparation for this thread to obtain definitive answers to Frequently asked questions. The function of Mane Horse Hair is to provide the softness and is a lighter hair than the Tail whose function would provide the stiffness or Backbone.