What's new

Advice on cheapest way to get started?

I'm a student with limited funds, but I really think I'd like to give straight razors a try. I wanted to know whether this sounds like a good shopping list to get started and see if I like shaving with a straight (considering I already have some basic stuff from shaving with a DE).

* Vintage / used razor or two that's "shave ready" from an experienced member on here or straightrazorplace ($30-$50 for a no-frills starter?)

* Tony Miller 4 sided paddle strop pre-pasted with 3.0, 1.0 and 0.5 micron pastes, and one side plain for stropping ($65-ish?)

Is there anything I'm missing? I went through the whole interactive guide and a bunch of newbie threads trying to figure this out. Am I right in assuming that this should give me enough to start, and I could look at buying a separate hanging strop and DMT/Norton hones later if I decided I liked it?

Thanks,
Eric

eric-

that sounds like a great plan. good to start out simple. if you just cant figure it out or decide that it isnt for you, you arent out much and can resell it pretty easily.

if the razor is indeed shave ready you wont need to use the pasted sides of the paddle very often.

after a number of shaves (say 10-20) you can refresh the edge with a little work on the pastes. eventually you will need a fine hone to get it back in shape. if you dont get into restoration (or need to remove a ding) you should be fine with just those items.

truly, a decent vintage razor can shave pretty much as well as much more expensive ones. personally, i really like the older ones.

welcome into the fray!
ryan

You've basically figured out for yourself what I tell people asking the very same question.

You'll want a hanging strop eventually, but a paddle is a good way to start on the cheap.