What's new

Best "cheap" fountain pen for a 14 year old?

I'm a divorced dad, I've got three amazing kids and despite the circumstances we have an amazing connection.

My 14 year old son, is so much like me it's staggering, and in a way it's extremely flattering because his interests mirror mine in a lot of ways. This morning I woke up to a Facebook post of his that said, "Can't sleep, too many Breaking Benjamin songs in my head and too many ideas for things I should write about."

Some of you may know, I'm a writer by trade ... formerly a newspaper reporter, now I dabble in corporate communications, marketing communications and my current contract job is as a technical writer.

So of course I want to encourage him ... and my thoughts turned to getting him his first fountain pen and possibly a journal.

He's a tall kid, almost as tall as me at 14 and I'm 6'3", so hand size isn't really an issue.

Any thoughts on a fairly cheap but nice FP for him?

Pilot makes decent disposable fountain pens. If you want him to learn how to refill the pen or want to give him something nicer, I like Lamy Safaris.

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"
How cheap, how nice? I'm assuming you want something nicer looking than a Preppy or Varsity? And something reliable that you or he won't have to fool with to get it to write well. I'd say your starting point would be a Pilot Metropolitan at $15-$20.00 that doesen't look like a disposable and writes well out of the box.

+1 on the Pilot Metropolitan recommendation.

They come in all sorts of colors but the weight and feel of the pen body as well as the smooth writing nibs make them great pens -- whether you are a first-time user or seasoned veteran. Costing between $15-20 it won't break the bank if your son doesn't take to it or something happens to it.

Good luck!