What's new

My opinion regarding artisan signature soaps

That's just not for us. We watch ourselves shave every day—I think that's enough for us. I'm sure these videos entertain or help some people - after all these guys have somehow acquired somewhat of a "celebrity status". Hey, I'm still waiting for my 15 minutes of fame. Shaving in front of a camera like it's something only I can do is not how my 15 will come to fruition, I'm afraid...

..."Vote for Pedro"

Last edited:
For me,I used to watch the shaving vids when I was a newbie. As creepy as it was, I did learn things by watching it on video and I think in that sense it has value. I'm sure there are people that watch them all the time, but I have to think that most just watch them to learn. I haven't watched a shave video in over a year, so I don't know any of the "celebrities" or whatever they are :)

I can see the videos in general being a good idea, with caveats:

A person who makes the videos might well shave differently 1 year after making the vid - updates are always good. That way the new folks get the most up-to-date technique.

If you are having specific issues, a video can help.

I don't personally watch them as a matter of course, but if I was looking for something specific then I would happily watch one. Sitting down each evening with a glass of wine and a video of a shaving man, on the other hand.................well, no thanks.

One of my New Year's resolutions is to get back to pumping out more shaving videos. My goal is a video every-other-week, though I want to try to work up to one per week.

These I will watch. I have always found them worthwhile and informative. Gave me a lot of valuable information (just like B&B) even though I've been wet shaving since I was about 15 (with more than 1 blade and canned goop). Never looked back since. Never joined any other forum or social group either. That's just me of course.

"Vote for Pedro"