What's new

Baking Question

I'm quite the accomplished cook for appetizers and main dishes, but a little lacking ( a lot actually) when it comes to baking.

As an example, many recipes call for 1 cup of sifted flour, and others call for 1 cup of flour, sifted.

Now, technically, by the English language, these mean two different things. But what about "Baking Lingo", same or different?

I think they do mean different things.

One cup of sifted flour is obtained after you sift a quantity of flour, measure out one cup after sifting.

One cup of flour, sifted, is the opposite. You measure out one cup of flour, then put that in a sifter, and use all of it in your recipe.

Sifting will change the volume of the flour.

Most commercial all purpose flour that you can buy now is already pre-sifted(check the bag/box), so you can skip the sifting step.

I have been a chef for the last 25 years and what it means is to sift the flour.
You always have some small moisture lumps that you need to remove to
have a very good texture to the flour and it introduces air into the mix to make a lighter product.

Try it both ways sifted and unsifted and you'll see the difference.
Back to the oven gents :biggrin:

I think that it is two different meanings, either measuring flour before it's sifted or after it's sifted. This is one of many small reasons why I agree with Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) in that dry ingredients should be weighed instead of using a volume measurement. But that is not the standard with recipes, using cups and spoons for all ingredients is the norm.

You might check the front of the cookbook (assuming you're using one of those) to see how they define these things. Baking Illustrated defines - in the front - how they measure flour (dip and level) and what they mean when they specify to sift.

Personally I've always measured then sifted.

And one of these days I will get a scale for baking.