What's new

Ok I’m in, but need some help

When I get home tonight I’ll send you a pm. I have a couple of Vintage razors that have nice edges on them. I can get those in the mail so that you have razors that will shave while you figure out the Gold Dollar.

I’m pretty new to straight razors, so please understand that I’m just trying to offer some help as someone who recently went through the same challenges and doubts. And I had plenty of both.

Your Gold Dollar is no longer shave ready. You can hone it yourself, there’s no better time than the present to learn.

I don’t think your 5k is going to work for settling the bevel. Setting the bevel is the foundation and in the beginning it’s all trial and error but, you can do it.
I think you need something in the 800-1.5k range.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like Straight Razors so I went for well known and inexpensive hones to start. You can get a King 1K pretty cheap and it might not be the fastest but it’ll work. At this stage, “not the fastest” is good. It allows us to make easily correctable mistakes.

What kind of strop are you using post shave? I found it easier to learn on a paddle strop because then I could only focus on the razor. After I felt confident I moved to hanging strops. I think I have a paddle left that I can include. I’ll have to look.

So when you have a shave ready straight in your hand and you go for your first pass…STOP!

Take a deep breath and then make your angle shallower and your pressure lighter. I know it sounds counterintuitive but, it will shave closer. Lighter pressure means at the blade edge to the skin. I know my first few strokes were tentative. Shallower angle and you’ll be fine.

In the beginning expect sub par shaves, some nicks, and some irritation…that’s all normal. You may want to knock down a WTG pass with your usual razor first, then do WTG with your straight.