What's new

A boy's first suit.

Hello hello,

Well i turned twenty-one on the sixth of this month, and my I decided it was finally time to have a suit. I need a versatile suit, something that can be worn to my impending job interviews, nights out with friends, and the all to often formal events i find myself at. Since I am in india, the land of fabric (and a fantastic exchange rate), I decided i should find a tailor here. After asking around, I found a fantastic man by the name of Mr. Vaish. He runs a shop in a nice shopping district here in Delhi, he's a multi-generational tailor, and trained on Savile Row. So I think he's well qualified.

Anyway, i went in and spoke to him and picked out a nice dark grey kasmir wool and told him to do me up. I go for my first fitting on Tuesday. But sadly I am still lacking some essentials for when this finally is finished; which leads to my conundrum(s).

I'm not very good at actually matching colors. I couldn't really tell you why, but it's just not something i have a talent for. Which isn't to say that i'm completely daft, but I digress. So what colors should i be matching this suit with? Obviously a white shirt and a black tie are a must. But beyond that. And what exactly are the relationships between everything? Shoes with belt, complimentary to suit? Tie with jacket complimentary to shirt? I'm a bit baffled.

Also, do i have to wear anything in particular for the fitting or can i just show up in jeans sneakers and a tshirt?

Thanks in advance fellas.

Personally I would keep the Shoe/Belt combo black on black.

As for the Shirt/Tie combo your pretty much wide open for choices of color. Just remember, solid shirt goes with a pattern or solid tie or a patterned shirt with a solid tie, never a patterned shirt and patterned tie...