What's new

My first vintage safety razor.

So i just got in a K4 gillette slim. 4th quarter of 65 i think?

Anyway the head was gray, like, very gray. I scrubbed it with hot soapy water and a tooth brush, soaked it in hot hot water that was scolding hot and near boiling. Then i picked up some blue magic metal polish cream from the automotive dept at the mart of walls, and polished it twice. Then discovered the adjuster plate sticks a little bit, and the adjuster dial seems to stick a little bit around the number 7. So then i soaked it in that scolding hot water twice. Probably gonna polish it again.

So any advice here about the sticky plate or adjuster knob?

Is wd-40 ok to use as lube (I'm a redneck sky pilot with a shaved head and nothing to lose. Have mineral oil but would prefer the wd) ?

And of course i took a few pics after i cleaned it but found some from the person who shipped it to me before i cleaned it. I'll share em. The whole darn razor was gray. I thought the head only had a couple spots of the plating left but after a polish discovered i was wrong.
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php

I am a big fan of Gillette's adjustable razors. Congrats on the new Slim. I have heard that mineral oil is best if the razor needs a bit of lubrication.

Sent via mobile - Chris

I am a big fan of Gillette's adjustable razors. Congrats on the new Slim. I have heard that mineral oil is best if the razor needs a bit of lubrication.

Sent via mobile - Chris
Lol i hate to admit this but i have 2 slims. I won two auctions that night. This was the cheaper one i acquired for 24.50. The other came spotless, no brassing, or plating loss. Looked as though it was maybe 10 yrs old, and i got it for 40.00 flat, shipped. I still don't know if i overpaid for it. In my opinion i didn't. But now I'm wondering just how much the slims go for usually? I think i got a good deal on both.

KeenDogg

Slays On Fleek - For Rizz