What's new

Drilling a cast iron skillet

So, between yesterday and today I purchased a lot of 8 six-inch cast iron skillets from a garage sale. All are unmarked...most look to be pre-1960 USA made (a couple I know are Lodge and Wagner). Most are pretty rough...I'm not sure they won't be pitted out after I clean them up. To be honest, I didn't even check to see if they were warped or not (I couldn't walk away at two bucks each).

Even if they aren't salvageable for kitchen use, I have a few ideas. One is to clean the rust off, paint them gloss black...then paint pastoral images (barn, farmhouse, old-timey kitchen, etc) on the bottom. The problem with this is that I'm no artist.

The second idea is to clean them up, paint them gloss black and turn them into clocks! As this involves drilling a hole in the center, gluing on a face and mounting the movement and hands, it should be withing my artistic ability. My only question is about drilling the hole.

To mount the movement, the hole will have to be about 5/8 of an inch in diameter. I do not own a drill press (but perhaps a neighbor does) so will likely be drilling the holes by hand. Currently, I'm planning on doing four as Christmas gifts. Do I need a special bit for this? Any tips on how to get this right? I do have a couple broken skillets to practice with, BTW.

Thanks for your help!

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
Really good carbide drill bit, slowish revolutions, and lots of oil to keep it cool. And patience, lol. But I'm no machinist! So all you handy men and ladies out there: help!

Seems like high speed steel (Google HSS drill bits) will work like a charm. Just oil the bit during the drilling.

Lol Dave, I highly doubt I'm smarter than you! Didn't mean to steal your thunder on that post. I didn't see you mention virtually the same thing. Great minds think alike :)

What are you bottle feeding in your profile pic?