What's new

Something a little more agressive than my Merkur 34C

Maybe I'm not prepping as much as I should, but I've noticed that shaving is much easier if I loosen the blade slightly, it seems to be more aggressive.

What razor would you recommend me that's a bit more aggressive than my Merkur? I've been shaving with it for over 4 years now.

The blades I use are Feathers.

I've never tried anything else but my Merkur and cartridge razors before that.

What's the joke about the R41 that I don't get?

What's the joke about the R41 that I don't get?

The R41 is know to be one of the most aggressive razors made

Yup, the R41 would be a huge step up in aggressiveness.

dabrok said:
R41 only if you shim it with at least 4 blades, right?
proxy.php

:w00t:

Go for the Merkur 37C (slant). It's more aggressive than the 34c, but still very pleasant over a R41. The R41 is a "far right" aggressive razor on the razor scale. Where the 37c is less aggressive but a pleasure to shave with.

Baby steps......

Go for the Merkur 37C (slant). It's more aggressive than the 34c, but still very pleasant over a R41...

I completely agree.
Got bored with my 38C which is the same as the 34 but has a longer handle. Bought a Progress and a 37C slant a month ago, and am enjoying the slant more than anything. Funny thing is, it actually feels less aggressive so I guess the right term is 'more efficient'. Certainly a logical and affordable step up for you, eos.
Have used Feather and Polsilver blades in it, both with good results.

I second the recommendation of the Progress for new production razor. It is an adjustable razor that at its lowest setting is virtually the same as the 34C but has the ability to shave much closer by dialing up to increase blade exposure.

I pair mine with a Gillette 7 o'clock Super Stainless (Russian) and it's my daily driver.

There are many vintage Gillette's that will work also, and Edgar's recommendation of the NEW is a good one.