What's new

Watch Recommendation

I'm new to the world of watches, and even though I've done some looking, I'm not really sure where to begin. I'd like a watch that looks elegant for the office (I'm a commercial banker), has a leather band, and is under $1,000. If you can get it lower, even better. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks for the recommendations. I'm loving both of these brands. I hadn't heard of either of them before, so they're good finds.

"Has a leather band" shouldn't really be a qualifier. Barring proprietary lugs, you can fit a leather band to any watch. Some stock leather may not be great also.

What kind of features are you looking for? Date, numerals (Roman or Latin), color, etc?

Have a look at the number of makers that use the valjoux 7750 movement. The day / date format is pretty classy. It's just a matter of finding one that has the aesthetics that appeal to you.

I worked for the same banking chain for over 36 years. I retired as a private banker, and I think I have an idea of the type watch you speak. Hamilton and Orient both make suitable models. In the bank, I would personally, wear the Hamilton brand name because of the respect accorded it. I have two of the new Hamilton Watch Company 's watches, both are retro. Each has a great presence and both have been excellent timekeepers.

Ron I

If you are not against the idea of vintage, there should be bundles of nice, conservative watches available at your price point.

First decide if you want a watch for impressing the people you work with or a watch you also use during your spare time for fun things!

If you want to impress, then get a Rolex (second hand for getting into your price range). Even the most illiterate person has been hearing about Rolex. Sure, there are better watches than a second hand Rolex for less money but Rolex is well known.