What's new

Kaweco sport vs TWSBI mini

I have been using a Lamy Al-Star for several years. I am looking to buy another pen. I want to use the pen as I travel and to keep with me when I am out and about. I want a pen that is on the smaller size. I think it would fit better in my pocket or briefcase. I have found two pens that interest me, the Kaweco sport (or AL) and the TWSBI mini. As I read the reviews I started getting a little confused on a few things and wanted to ask a few questions

1) Cartridge vs converter- My Lamy uses cartidges. Are there pros and cons in regard to leakage, travel on planes, amount of ink, etc?
2) Is one of the pens more durable? I travel and lot and would want to use this pen as I am out and about.
3) Is there anything else that I should consider about either?

Thanks

Cartridges are convenient, but self fillers usually have a larger capacity.
In theory, cartridges provide a better insulation, but in practice I never noticed a difference.
Piston fillers can leak over time, though I also have piston fillers from the fifties that are still airtight.

Last edited:

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
Kaweco is a cartridge pen, and I am uncertain if there is a converter for it at all. (Generally, it's assumed that there is none, but IIRC I recently saw a tiny Kaweco Sport converter.

Kaweco can be eyedropped very easily, which will greatly increase the capacity. I do this often. (This cannot be done with the "Al" version, made out of aluminium.

Kaweco Sport is very durable. The TWSBI is renowned for it's cracking issues (which some will tell you have probably been resolved, but still ...)

My black Kaweco Sport Classic, fine nib, is the best pen I own. The nib is the smoothest I've used, and that includes some pens costing ten or twenty times as much. I think it was partially luck of the draw that I received such a winner. I use the pen heavily, as I edit books, pen-on-paper.