What's new

1964 Super Speed

Scored a beauty at an antique store. I was never really a fan of the 60s Super speeds but it was only.$5. Had one before that rattled quite a bit. This one seems tight.

Please suggest a blade for me for the maiden voyage tomorrow. I have GSB, Gillette Platinum, vintage Schick platinum, Astra, Red IP, Derby, Gillette Black, and yellow.

Thanks!

mswofford

Rest in Peace
If you have Astra SP blades, they should be good. I've heard good things about Gillette Blacks but haven't tried them yet. Today I shaved with a new Feather in my newly acquired 1956 SS flare tip and the shave was great; near BBS and no nicks or irritation.

I have a 1960 super speed that I love. I'm fairly new at DE shaving but so far I like the Astra platinum blades the best in it.

proxy.php

Here it is...

Attachments

• $uploadfromtaptalk1418535488871.jpg
    $uploadfromtaptalk1418535488871.jpg
    26.9 KB · Views: 112
  • $uploadfromtaptalk1418535525939.jpg
    $uploadfromtaptalk1418535525939.jpg
    34.5 KB · Views: 113
  • $uploadfromtaptalk1418535561521.jpg
    $uploadfromtaptalk1418535561521.jpg
    53.1 KB · Views: 113
I used a superspeed flare exclusively for a two week business trip because I did not want my Aristocrat to turn up missing. I used the Astra blade and had to fine tune my touch to prevent irritation. I find I like blue birds in it more than the Astra sp blades. just ordered more blue birds but the price has gone way up on those. Spent almost as much for 25 blue birds as 100 Astra sp blades.

Good shaving razor, enjoy it.

All I can say is WOW!!! In my 10 years of wet shaving, this was my all time BEST shave experience. Here's my conundrum...why such a great shave?