What's new

Mild Better?

I have been using a double edged razor for several years. I have two adjustable models. I finally realized for me at least a milder setting is better than a more aggressive setting. It's the angle of the blade, more than the gap, that matters. I get a much smoother shave, with fewer risks, at a much lower setting. I just wanted to share that and ask if anyone has had similar experiences.

Perhaps because of the sense that "aggressive" was more manly, I'd been using a more aggressive setting than needed or ideal.

The best part of DE shaving is finding the combination of hardware and software that works best for YOU and no one else. No need to do what others do. Congrats on finding your personal zone!!

Perhaps because of the sense that "aggressive" was more manly, I'd been using a more aggressive setting than needed or ideal.

IMO this sums it up.

Nothing wrong with using a milder setting, in fact, milder razors require a refined technique, it's not easy to develop that technique.

Aggressive razors are like a shortcut, it takes you to your destination a bit faster, but probably you didn't enjoy the trip.

However, IMHO one can enjoy both mild and aggressive razors, I'm one of those persons.

I did my time with aggressive razors last year, including a Cadet open comb and an R41. The shaves were not enjoyable.

I sold everything else when I got my Weber as it has a nice balance, but I'm considering getting an R89 again, because there are times I want an even milder shave.

I'd rather do more passes with a milder razor than be super cautious with an aggressive one.

Depends on the day for me. If I have time I enjoy a milder shave and more passes. If I don't, I'm all about an aggressive open comb and a 2 pass shave.