What's new

BBS Shave On The Neck?

I've been using a straight razor for a few months now and think I'm proficient enough because I've been cutting myself even less than I ever did with my old Fusion cartridges. I have no problem getting BBS on the face, but on the neck is still extremely difficult and I seem to feel micro-stubble no matter what. On the extremely few occasions when I was able to get BBS on the neck, it took WAY too much longer than it should have — most people would have been able to go get a car wash, oil change, grab breakfast and come back home before I finished shaving.

Are there any techniques I could use to get BBS on the neck more easily and quickly? I haven't been able to find any videos specifically about that, so no reference to look at. Should I just go buy a safety razor because this is all a waste of time? I sure hope not. Please help...:w00t:

The challenge I have on my neck is that the darned razor is too long, given the surfaces to be shaved and the hair growth patterns. No matter how or where I shave, some part of the plane being shaved is not going to be hit properly. This isn't a problem with the smaller DEs and Carts. So I had to break down those shaving surfaces into smaller sections and figure out the best way to shave them. They tend to be between the ligaments or tendons or whatever they are and my adam's apple. Stretching, super close shave angles, and learning to use the rounded heel of the razor were key.

And still there is no BBS guarantee. But I'm more interested in the journey still (I keep telling myself). BBS consistency will come. Eventually.

I hope.

I cannot shave my neck ATG without irritation, for me it is a sensitive area. However, two (and a half) consecutive WTG passes do the work just fine. Not exact BBS, but pretty close to it without irritation.