What's new

First Semogue boar

Happy to get my first Semogue Brush, an SOC boar in Cherry. :)

Been using an Omega boars for the past few months (48, 49, and a smaller one from Shoppers), and am curious to experience the difference between Omegas and Semogues.

Any tips? What should I expect?

$uploadfromtaptalk1398378221094.jpg

You will come to love it; at least I did mine. It took me about 30 shaves or so before I felt it was "broken in" so count on a break in period before you decide if you like yours or not. IMHO the SOC boar is one of the great bargains out there and excels at bowl lathering. Brushes are a YMMV thing so there will be other opinions to say the least.

I'm new to DE shaving. The Semogue boars top the charts in softness and backbone. I have the SOC but the Cerda is my favorite. If your itching for another brush. Order the Semogue Cerda from Vintage Scent. Lots of B&B members have ordered this brush and I've not read one negative review.

Congratulations. You have acquired a great brush. Omega knots stay tight, whereas your SOC will splay a lot. This splay is part of the charm of the SOC and is one of the characteristics that make it so well liked. You'll have to decide for yourself which type of boar knot you prefer. However, give the SOC ample time to break in.

Marco

B&B's Man in Italy
What you should expect? Simply the finest boar brush currently made. As always, my personal opinion.

Congratulations. You have acquired a great brush. Omega knots stay tight, whereas your SOC will splay a lot. This splay is part of the charm of the SOC and is one of the characteristics that make it so well liked. You'll have to decide for yourself which type of boar knot you prefer. However, give the SOC ample time to break in.

Hmm ... that splay is probably what I hate! Thanks for clarifying :thumbup:

Really, that is the most logical explanation I've read so far for the different behaviour of Omega and Semogue knots, and why Semogue and me don't get along.