What's new

Can you write fast with one?

On my job I take a lot of info on the phone and then transfer it to the computer. I can write faster than type(keyboarding). I use a roller ball now. Could a fountain pen write fast enough? Thanks.

I couldn't see why not. I'm still pretty new to this, but I have yet to write faster than my pen could go.

IMHO, fountain pens aren't for fast scribbling/note taking, but everyone is different. You could start off cheap and see how it works, so you aren't sunk too much if it isn't to your liking. I keep a few rollerballs around precisely for what you are doing currently.

I can probably write about as fast with a fine firm nib as I can with anything, although above a certain speed my handwriting goes downhill rapidly. I'd be a lot slower with, say, a flex nib or italic, but probably wouldn't have those at work anyway.

Still, I often use a mechanical pencil for the kind of quick note taking you describe. It's not so much that I can write faster as that I don't want to worry about damaging my writing instrument when I get in a rush, and my attention is divided. Might not be a concern for another person.

Last edited:
I also find mechanical pencils or a good rollerball pen more practical for faster writing. However, I don't do it at all, any longer. Good luck to you.

Beside g2s, I use a retro 51 ballpoint and a pilot metro rollerball for work. While I love my FPs, they were not conducive. More because the cap. I do want to trya vanishing point

IT shouldn't be a problem, secretaries did it for decades taking shorthand dictations. The problem they had was after writing a few full pages in their notebook without a stop, the collector would run dry and the feed couldn't keep up, so a few groups like Parker and later Esterbrook invented a shorthand nib/feed that was designed to keep up with fast writing. I doubt anyone today would need such a nib/feed combo.

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu