What's new

Help for a complete beginner needed please!

Hello everyone.

I am both completely new to this great forum and completely new to DE shaving and require a little advice from you guys on here if possible please.

As it was christmas yesterday my father bought be my first DE razor, a Merkur Futur. I love the present however unfortunately am suffering from severe razor burn and nicks when shaving. After reading a few posts on here it appears that the futur, although a great razor is was probably not the best option for me as a beginner. Unfortunately I do not have the heart to tell my father and was wondering if you could offer any advice on how I can make the best out of the futur razor for a beginner.

I am using merkur blades and have the setting turned down to 1 (the lowest), I am using a badger brush (taylor of old bond) and a shaving cream (taylor of old bond).

What advice do you have for me? what are the best blades for beginners (most forgiving and maybe least sharp) with sensitive skin and what is the best setting to have the futur on? I am only 22 and have been using a cartridge razor with success since I started shaving. I know that when mastered DE razors are by far the best but I need help because the razor burn and pain is hugely painful.

I hope you all h`d a great christmas and really appreciate your help .

Alex