What's new

Chrome vs. Stainless vs. Platinum

I'm new to wetshaving, and this is my first post. I've been shaving with an EJ 89L DE with some Derby blades (or as I call them, Derbs for short) for about 3 weeks. I haven't been fully satisfied with my shave (I still get redness on my neck), even though I've seen improvement through technique, so I bought a sampler pack of razor blades a few days ago. Hopefully I can find something that reduces my redness over the Derbs.

Question is, I've noticed that many brands make a blade in chrome, stainless, and platinum (e.g. sharks stainless vs. sharks chrome, etc.). What's the difference between these? They seem like they're usually the same price.

Good question. I bought a sampler pack that has four different Lord blades: Super Stainless Classic, Super Stainless, Super Chrome, and Platinum Class. I haven't shaved with any of those yet so I don't know what the difference is.

In general, is Platinum better than Stainless? And where does Chrome fall?

Good question. I bought a sampler pack that has four different Lord blades: Super Stainless Classic, Super Stainless, Super Chrome, and Platinum Class. I haven't shaved with any of those yet so I don't know what the difference is.

In general, is Platinum better than Stainless? And where does Chrome fall?

The platinum/chrome just refers to the coating. Most blades are stainless with a teflon coating. Chrome blades are stainless steel with a chrome and teflon coating. Platinum blades for the most part are stainless steel coated with platinum and teflon. These coatings just make the blade smoother. There is no "best.

There are stainless steel blades that are excellent and there are platinum blades that are terrible. Its a YMMV issue. There are platinum hardened blades, such as some very desirable out of production gillettes, but that is a special case which are hard to come by and quite expensive. Hope this helps