What's new

How much goop do you slather on your face?

Title says it all. I'm a noob that's having some pretty bad razor burn problems and it was suggested to me that I am overcomplicating things by throwing too many products at my face trying to get past that. Undoubtedly correct. I am taking some time off shaving trying to let my face heal and currently using ProActiv as a daily antibacterial/anti blemish remedy, seeing very good results but the products are harsh on my skin. Right now I can deal with harshness to get past the blemishes and burn.

The question arises: What stuff do I slap on pre and post shave to both minimize razor burn and put some much-needed moisture back in my skin?

I'm thinking the following: hot shower, Proraso Pre/Post, shave, alum block, Proraso Pre/Post. That's it. Given that I am still going to be using ProActiv to try to help control my bacteria problems, I am afraid this may not be moisturizing enough, but I am also afraid of entering newbie overload on products again. Any tips or suggestions or criticisms would be appreciated.

Also if anyone knows of a single product as effective as the ProActiv line at clearing up blemishes, but less harsh and drying, I would be eternally grateful. I have a feeling ProActive in the morning + shaving at night will equal a raw face.

Thanks for the help!

The question arises: What stuff do I slap on pre and post shave to both minimize razor burn and put some much-needed moisture back in my skin?

I'm thinking the following: hot shower, Proraso Pre/Post, shave, alum block, Proraso Pre/Post. That's it. Given that I am still going to be using ProActiv to try to help control my bacteria problems, I am afraid this may not be moisturizing enough, but I am also afraid of entering newbie overload on products again. Any tips or suggestions or criticisms would be appreciated.

Going minimal is a good idea, but the menthol or eucalyptus in the Proraso could be irritating you.