What's new

Muscle memory vs thinking

I have been using the same razor (23C) for the past 5 years or more. When I started shaving I have a few nicks here and there but quickly got my form down to were no nicks and everything was going swell. Fast forward to 2024. I started having to stay at my fire station for all my on call hours so I thought ill find a travel razor for ease of storage in my foot locker. I first tried to shave with the travel size kit at home and had a few nicks and bad razor burn. Thought it was the razor head. Tried the Merkur head with the small handle and still bad burn. I watched a couple videos and said I am do ATG wrong so I started focusing on doing it correctly. I eliminated the burn but lots of knicks. I decided the travel handle is just too small for my monkey paws. I was stationed in quarters since Thursday evening till this morning at 6. I decided to take my 23C with and use my traditional kit to do my shaving needs his weekend to try and have a great weekend with a great shave. I started my WTG and no issues. I then started my ATG and I started to think of how am I supposed to hold the razor correctly instead of just shaving. Well you just guess how that shave went. I was sitting in my office reading the posts and then thought. Am I overthinking my shaving instead of just letting myself shave the way I always have. I am sure many of you who have been shaving for multiple years or decades don't even think twice about how you hold the razor, or what angle you hold the razor to your face. You just do it.