What's new

Worst DIY job to tackle??

This thread is somewhat in jest, but I recall a diversion in a recent thread where the discussion focused on how painting was the least favorite activity. While that sentiment is understood, aren't there a lot of jobs even worse?

In that spirit what is your least favorite DIY job?

I was replacing a shower valve today. Actually found necessary washers and faucet seat at the big box store. But that was my trigger for the worse job thinking, as my stress level rises a little whenever the household water is shut off to work on plumbing. So I might say any plumbing task is the worse.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
I’m a carpenter by trade, but any water supply related work gives me the heebie jeebies cause 80% of the work I do is water damage restoration. I know how to do the simple things, but I still worry if a line is going to fail when I’m off on a 3 day weekend trip.

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
I worked about 1/3 of my working years as a carpenter and I agree... though I'm not fond of painting, it's plumbing repairs that cause me the most anxiety. I don't always have the right tools, I have spare parts for carpenter jobs laying around but I only have a few plumbing related spares so I'm often missing something, I've done a careful job... turned the water back on and had leaks.... nightmares.

I befriended a plumber here and have used him for years instead of trying the more difficult jobs myself, but he just retired. Finding a new plumber???? Another nightmare. <eg>

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
Painting.
Followed closely by drywall.
I'd rather replace all the hardware in a bathroom than paint a wall.