What's new

Wine Aging

I've recently purchased a wine cooler, and come across several bottles of wine that I consider to be worth saving for a special occasion (but I'm new to wines, so what do I know). My question is, how long is too long? I realize that this is a fairly in depth question. From what I've heard around the office, a good Napa Cab doesn't really hit its potential for 10+ years. Then again, I've read articles stating that aging them is pointless, and possibly even detrimental. B&B has always been a haven for a great number of knowledgeable individuals. What say you?
IMG_3457.JPG

IMG_3454.JPG

Ps. I have plenty of others that I can drink now, so waiting doesn't hurt my feelings in the slightest.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
Those are young'uns.

99% of all wine is aged on the back seat of your car on the way home from the wine shop. Very few benefit from long term aging, but those that do can be miraculous. Of course, anything aged for a long time can go bad, so it's always going to be a crapshoot. Many fine wines will display "the fruit of youth" when young and be enjoyable, then may go into an extended dumb period where they do not show well, only to blossom into something magnificent years later. Others may be hard and tannic when young and need years to soften.

Hardly any whites are suited for long term aging, save for a few white Burgundies, German and Alsatian whites, and dessert wines such as Sauternes. Basically, don't bother aging them.

For reds, stick with big, bold ones. Bordeaux, Rhone, and Burgundy do well. Nothing ages better than vintage port.

img_0001a.jpg

Beautiful bottles Sir! Maybe one of these days I'll get a couple good ones in the collection. Sadly, I don't come across many like that in my business.