What's new

Fine Wine Buying

A lot of cocktail discussion, but wanted to see if we can get an active thread on fine wine. I'm not a professional, but a rather enthusiastic collector and drinker of good wine. I visit a lot of vineyards and slowly adding to a long-term wine collection to either drink or sell later.

I'll kick it off by highlighting some notable and most enjoyed bottles of wine that I've drank:

Spottswoode Premiere Napa Valley Lot No. 137 Cab Sauv 2019 - just wow
Paul Jaboulet Aine Hermitage 'La Maison Bleue' 2015 - great for a bbq
Joseph Perrier Cuvee Josephine Brut Champagne 2012 - one of the finest grower champagnes that I've ever had for my birthday in 2021
Domaine Leflaive Puligny Montrachet 2018 - favorite appellation for chardonnay anywhere

Does that include boxed wines? Asking for a friend. Grin. There are Very few bottled wines I purchase. Most seem overpriced, but then I have a very challenged pallet.

I too am an enthusiastic collector and drinker of good wine, and also a professional so could throw out a load of detail and opinion about all this. But keeping things simple here are some quick thoughts...

Buy the producer, not the appellation.

Buy French, Italian, and German wines. At the top end they are still easily the best.

Buy N Rhone now. In the future it will not be cool enough for properly elegant and delineated Syrah.

Buy Barbaresco.

Buy Beaujolais.

Buy 2021. Especially in France.

Buy lower cuvees in hotter years (if you have to), and higher cuvees in colder years.

Buy colder years.