What's new

Trying to understand "mild" vs "aggressive" razors

Alright, so I am new at this and became quickly frustrated with my first DE razor purchase, the Merkur 34c. I felt it was way too mild and not efficient enough, so I stupidly sold it and purchased a few "aggressive" razors (r41, GC 84, and Rocca). I proceeded to save every other day with the more aggressive razors and did indeed receive more efficient and closer shaves, BUT at the cost of some pretty nasty razor burn on my neck. I decided that maybe I should slow down and let my skin heal before giving the milder 34c another try. So I purchased another 34c and gave my skin 5 days to heal with no shaving.

Today, I put a feather blade into my new 34c and did my usual 3 pass shave. I was thrilled to have a decent shave with a lot less irritation. Not quite as close as I get with the other razors, but at least my neck is not shredded. I plan to try another shave with the 34c in ~ 48 hrs to see how it goes. I'm hoping to have an even closer shave as I continue to figure out the angle and improve my technique. Right now I am just so relieved to not have a bunch of razor burn on my neck. The thing is, I'm not sure if the the lack of irritation is due to using a milder razor, or if I have less irritation because it has been 5 days since my last shave LOL. I guess we'll see... Has anyone else experienced this?

Ron R

I survived a lathey foreman