What's new

To the gentleman who stole my camera

Dear $#!thead,

Hi. You don't know me, but if you browse through the photos on the memory card inside the camera you stole out of my luggage yesterday, you'll get a pretty good introduction. There's a couple of Christmases on there -- that older guy missing half his fingers is my dad. He just lost his retirement recently. And of course there's my mom in the gaudy holiday sweatshirt -- she's a public school teacher. Remember your elementary school days? She's the teacher that kept up the futile fight every day to get kids like you to take learning seriously and develop some ambition, but then took the blame when it didn't stick and you eventually dropped out.

And then there's me. I'm the chubby, well-shaven younger guy in the glasses. I'm a graduate student studying the molecular biology underlying adverse immunological events in cell-based leukemia therapies. Didn't understand that? Put more simply, I'm trying to contribute to the betterment of mankind. Might even (in some small way) help treat your sorry *** someday, that is if you keep away from the shady pawn shops and back alley drug dealers you're almost certainly headed to with the camera you just stole from me. Folks like you don't often die of cancer, for some strange reason.

I hope you get a lot of money for the camera. I hope the drugs you buy with the money give you the best high you've had in years. Because the camera made me happy too. And it might as well be making someone happy, now that I don't have it anymore. Unfortunately, I've seen the same camera I paid about $800 for not long after it came out on sale for $500 brand new recently, and I suspect without all the accessories or battery charger I left in Cleveland it's going to bring you as much as you expect it will. It's not a Nikon or a Canon, but I doubt you took a moment to consider that there were almost surely more valuable cameras in the other luggage on that flight.