What's new

Stiff upper lip [hairs]

Hi all,

As you may recall from my earlier posts I'm fairly new to wet shaving. Been using a straight for about a month now. I'm getting better with it all the time, less time to shave, less irritation, smoother. Except for the upper lip, I'm just having a bugger of a time getting it well shaved without irritation. Each day it's either left with a lot of whiskers or the skin is red, bumpy and tender.

Method: I start with downward strokes, blade under the nose at 90 degrees then roll it toward thirty degrees as I moves free of the nose. This always leaves a lot of hair behind. I've tried side-to-side strokes but they have little effect as well. Only upward strokes seem to have any effect but this always causes a LOT of irritation.

Two things which I'm sure are contributing to the difficulties here: the whiskers on my upper lip seem to be the thickest and harders whiskers on my face and they grow at a steep downward angle. Also, just so I could learn to properly shave every where with a straight I got rid of my beard (which I keep changing - most recently it was a goatee plus a thin beard along the jaw-line.) This is the first time my upper lip has felt a blade in years.

Is there a better technique for shaving the upper lip or should I just keep a stiff upper lip and wait for my technique to improve?

My thoughts (though I have the same problem),