What's new

Spinework

Spinework

• Just do it

• Send it to someone who knows what he's doing

• Just leave it like it is

Results are only viewable after voting.
I have this beautiful TI in ivory. But the spine literally screams for some work and I figured I'd just take my dremel and file in some adornments. But I have no experience with that kind of work. What do you think?

Attachments

• $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    46.8 KB · Views: 183
Last edited:
Wow, very nice TI. I would also leave it as is. If you're decided to go forward though, practice on a cheap GD first so you can see what works better.

I believe Seraphim could be of some help :)

Working on hardened metal is not easy. He dremel drums work but it is "rough" work. If you insist on something done I would send it to someone with some experience doing it.

Don't Do It.

It is what it is and it's best if you leave it that way.
If you what to try doing spine work, spend $10 on a GD and have at it.
It you "test" it on your TI it going to ruin the investment you have in that razor.

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
Don't do it! If you just GOT to do it, do a few GDs first. Dremels have caused much razor tragedy and heartbreak. Get some experience with that fiendish instrument before you apply it to a TI.

Me, I am not a fan of worked spines, anyway. I never saw the point.

Don't get just one GD. Get a dozen. If you buy 10 or more they are $3.43/ea with free shipping, when you go right to this vendor's site instead of ebay: http://www.buyincoins.com/item/7076.html. That's where I get mine. Check your emails from them after the sale... there will usually be a discount code for your next purchase. The last order I got, I paid less than $3.06/ea for them. When you got a bunch of them not only do you get more practice but you don't have to get all bummed out if you destroy a couple.