What's new

Seeking Advise for First Badger

I am looking for a first badger brush and would appreciate your feedback. I technically had a badger in the past, two years ago when I gave wet shaving a go, part of a Muhle razor/brush set. I remember the (dark color) badger to be rough on the face. Came and learned along way. Looking for:

• Silvertip or High Mountain (I read there isn't much difference?)
• 24mm (26mm if really worth it)
• Face lathering
• Minimalist design/material for the handle. No funky colors, etc.
• Minimized shedding

So far, I came across these contenders:

Razorock Silvertip 24 Barrel
WCS Tortoishell Silvertip
Fendrihan High Mountain

Muhle has Silvertip knots but I am not sold on their handles (saw them all in person at the Muhle store in London couple months ago) - some are too big and the "traditional" handles didn't appeal to me.

Heinrich L. Tather is another contender. I think it's THE contender but I am no expert. Love their handles and their knots seem highly regarded.

My gut tells me to start with the RR and then move up. I thought I would check with you folks first.

Thanks for your time

Last edited:
I can imagine Muhle's more humble grades of badger brushes are somewhat on the rough end of the spectrum. However, I can heartily recommend their Silvertip badger knot and they have plenty of handle options too.

I would get the Thater. The others are less costly, but the quality of Thater along with their knots is a combo that's tough to beat. Thater is levels above the other brushes you mentioned. Not saying they aren't good, but if you can start with great...

marty

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
My first badger was a Zenith 27.5mm with a 506 solid copper handle, which isn't available at the moment from this supplier... but here is one with the same handle design but with a black resin handle:

Not the cheapest out there but mine holds its own against some relatively expensive competition.