What's new

Need Help Restoring a Copper Shaving Bowl

Hello everyone,

I'm in a bit of a pickle. I made a mistake with my Captain's Choice copper shaving bowl. I thought it might be a good idea to clean it with ketchup, but I ended up leaving the ketchup in the bowl for too long, and it caused some significant damage. The tarnish and lacquer have been completely worn off on the inside, and there are some spots on the outside that have also been affected.

I'm reaching out to this knowledgeable community for guidance on how I can restore my beloved bowl. I understand it might involve re-polishing and re-lacquering, but I've never done anything like this before and would appreciate any advice or step-by-step instructions you can offer.

Thank you in advance for your time and help. I'm eager to make my copper bowl as good as new, or as close as possible.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
Could have been worse. You could have used metal polish on your french fries.
I'd suggest two options:

1. Clean it the best you can with some metal polish wadding compound, such as Never-Dull. The impregnated cotton works wonders removing stubborn staining. Then get yourself a rattle-can of spray on polyurethane and following instructions, give a good coat and let it cure for a few days in a warm area (not hot).

2. Give the bowl to your significant other as a change or jewelry bowl, buy a replacement from Captains Choice, and leave the condiments for your dinner.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
I'd polish it up, those cotton wads sound handy, maybe some 0000 steel wool, and pitambari powder. But then leave the surfaces in a bare and uncoated state. The natural patina created with use and time might be fun and add a rustic charm.

Ketchup?

Last edited:
Gentlemen,

Thanks for your input! I like the idea of polishing it up and letting it age naturally for an authentic, weathered look.