What's new

Mead brewing!

Whipped up my first two batches mixed up yesterday! Super excited to see how it comes out!

20230906_194747.jpg
20230906_201154.jpg
20230907_164724.jpg

Looks nice! I confess I've been wanting to try some of the commercially available ones around here, but the bottles are usually immense... hate to commit if I ended up not liking it!

Looks nice! I confess I've been wanting to try some of the commercially available ones around here, but the bottles are usually immense... hate to commit if I ended up not liking it!
I dove in head first 🤣. Probably too early haha. I've never tried mead before but grabbed all the stuff to try it out haha. Figured I can find at least one to make I would like eventually haha. I have also heard homemade mead is way better than anything commercial. Everything I've heard described about it sounds nice though 😁👍.

That 1.112 sg is gonna be a doosey!

I have been considering taking a run at a batch of mead.
Do you plan to carbonate it or enjoy it still?
When I ferment a lager it usually takes 7 to 10 days at 10°C, ales are more like 4 to 6 days at 18°C.

I have never used a wine yeast so cant even guess at ferment time.

Enjoy!
Jay

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
So now what? You just let it sit for how long?
How do you know what the alcohol content is?

That 1.112 sg is gonna be a doosey!

I have been considering taking a run at a batch of mead.
Do you plan to carbonate it or enjoy it still?
When I ferment a lager it usually takes 7 to 10 days at 10°C, ales are more like 4 to 6 days at 18°C.

I have never used a wine yeast so cant even guess at ferment time.

Enjoy!
Jay
Nice! I don't plan to carbonate as of yet. But in the future I would love to learn how to bottle carbonate. I've heard some say a week for mead and some way longer 2+ weeks. Guess it depends on lots of factors. Learning as I go 🤣. Hopefully they both turn out nicely.