What's new

Looking for $50 Aggressive Razor

Newbie here. I only have a couple of basic razors (appear to be Weishi or Baili rebrands) and am looking to add one or two $50 or under razors to my collection. I have a supply of Treet Falcons and Platinums that most here consider moderate in sharpness. I am wondering what razors would pair well with them and make them perform a bit better, not that I have any real complaints.

I would appreciate any recommendations in the <$50 range. Thanks!

R41, the current incarnation provides an easy and surprisingly smooth shave, when paired to a smooth blade. Probably the absolute closest and efficient razor you can buy for under $50. - You can also buy a replacement head for $25 and pair with a handle of your choice, which is what I did.

I held off from buying an R41 head for the longest time, and finally bit the bullet. Rarely a nick or cut, and a smooth/close shave when loaded with a Voskhod, Lord Platinum, Rapira Platinum Lux, or Pol-Silver SI. Even a Feather is surprisingly smooth, but does have a weeper or two, but that's the blade more than the razor, as it also happens in several other of my razors.

When I did my carbon Treet trials, the Falcon did well in all my razors but it did best in a Red Tip Super Speed. If you're in the U.S., you can get a decent one for $25. It was Gillette's more-aggressive Super Speed, but it's not that aggressive by modern standards.

These are vintage, so I would keep a lookout on eBay for one? Or is there a modern clone somehow?

For under $50 (modern) - R41 or Fatip Grande or Piccolo. Razorock Game Changer 84 maybe, but I believe just under or just over 50. I only have the R41 and the Fatip Piccolo. Both are excellent shavers.