What's new

Lawyers, do I have any recourse?

The Cliff Notes Summary of Getting Gouged by the Movers

In March I was told to deploy. I didn't want to keep an apartment and make a $1300 rent payment if I wasn't going to be living there so I hired movers to get my stuff out and into storage as I didn't know anyone who could help me and didn't have much time.

I searched online to find a moving company. I decided on a company in Rockville, MD (Best Time Movers) because they provided the lowest quote.

Quote 1: $455.00 in writing
Quote 2: $575.00 in writing a day later
Final Bill: $1538.00 after they showed up three days later

I asked why it had gone up and they said, "Well, your stuff isn't adequately prepared to go into our storage unit so we had to do all the packaging using our materials so you're charged for the cost of the materials and the additional time associated with that." Ok, whatever. My mistake. I've never done this before. Privately I seethed as this was the first month I'd never not been able to pay off a credit card in full during the 10 years I'd had a card.

So, deployed and came home. Went to get my stuff back from them as it was in their storage and they gave me a quote.

Quote 1: $597 in writing
Quote 2: $747.00 in writing a day later
Final Bill: $863.00 after they showed up two days later with my stuff

I called them up the main office and asked why the discrepancy because I remembered what had happened the first time (once is a mistake...twice is a business model). I wanted to get to the bottom of why they couldn't arrive at the figure they quoted. After all, the document says "Book today and receive this price."

Me: Why is it that the number I was quoted and was told I would pay is not what I have to pay? If I cancel now, you keep my stuff and I have to pay a $300 cancellation fee. This doesn't make sense.
Movers: Well, it's just an estimate.