What's new

KAI Blade

I got a new old Gillette Tech revamp from Razor Emporium and have been using it every day. I find most blades work in it; expensive, cheap, good, bad, sharp, dull.

Well, I haven't actually tried all that many, and I'm a beginner, so don't attach too much weight to my statements.

I even get a great shave with Silver Stars (super cheap), although I haven't worked out their rate of decline yet—first shave is very good, second shaves seem not as good, although I don't really have enough data yet. I have plenty of time for that, though, because I bought 100 of them! A hundred only costs $7.99.

Anyway I have a lot of blades lying around with just one shave on them, and today I tried a Kai in the Tech. Second shave for the blade. It's the first blade I've tried in the Tech that really seems different from all the rest. Mainly, blade feel. It was easier to feel the correct angle. They say the Kai is slightly wider than most blades and that seemed true.

I have a little bump on my jawline that I shave very carefully in one direction, which usually works. Most blades don't draw blood when I do that. The Kai did, just a little spot. The alum block stopped it.

But the main thing--man, what a great shave. Very, very close. I only did two passes plus touch-up, and the blade didn't feel "dangerous" like it was going to cut me; it felt very smooth as I shaved, and I was confident in it. But it just did a better job than anything else I've yet tried in the Tech.