What's new

Just got a sight unseen and...

I just got my sight unseen from whippeddog for my birthday, and it is very handsome!

However, it seems to be less sharp than I'm used to. I normally shave DE with Feathers, and I love the way they just make my hair vanish. Is it realistic to compare a SR to a DE? It removes my hair just as well as my feathers; it just drags quite a bit more (but doesn't cause any more irritation).

I'm also extremely open to the proposition that this comes down to my technique. I have tried straight razor shaving for only three days so far, and only on my right cheek. I'm not very experienced.

Thanks for taking the time to read!

-Zamonium

IMO straights are less sharp than de blades, but I can't say that that equals to a dragging feeling when shaving. Proper prep is crucial when using a straight, less so with a de. I would definitely shower first and use warm towels followed by a moist slick lather and see how that works.

I would definitely suggest its technique.

+1

Adjust your angle and speed.
A straight needs a firm, deliberate stroke. They are also very sensitive to angle. Too shallow and they'll tug a bit but not deliver a close shave.
Too steep and they'll abrade the skin and kill the edge, requiring a premature trip back to the hones.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
IMO there will always be some pull on the WTG, just a bit. The sharper you get the blade and the better your technique the less it gets, but you will always feel it- and for me it is a pleasurable sensation. It shouldn't make your eyes water :smile:.

I just got my sight unseen from whippeddog for my birthday, and it is very handsome!

However, it seems to be less sharp than I'm used to. I normally shave DE with Feathers, and I love the way they just make my hair vanish. Is it realistic to compare a SR to a DE? It removes my hair just as well as my feathers; it just drags quite a bit more (but doesn't cause any more irritation).