What's new

Introductory Fountain Pens for FPNoobs

Hey gang, I've been seeing so many "What should I start out with" threads lately, that I think it's time for a FPNoob Thread. I took the liberty of writing something up, but since I'm a noob myself, I'll post it and leave it to you guys to hack away. If it were to become a sticky here in the Nib, I'm sure it will eventually benefit someone. Input is welcome and expected. Also, I didn't do much research, I just typed from memory, so corrections will benefit us all. Enjoy.

Fountain Pen Noobs,

You might find it beneficial to read this post before posting the eternal question “Which pen should be my first?” The only true answer is “All of them. Every pen ever made should be your first.” This is a question asked by many, but only answerable by the asker. However, to a newcomer such as yourself, you find that you lack certain, shall we say, knowledge. That’s what this thread is for. You won’t find an overwhelming bundle of information, but hopefully what I have to say will set you on the road to spending all your money on Fountain Pen gear.
The first thing you need to answer, before you even ask the question is “How much do I want to spend?” There are so many fun reasons to start writing with a pen, and most of them lead to future purchases. Set a limit (or starting point) for yourself and try (this is really hard on B&B) to stick with it (at first).

Inexpensive pens are more readily available than you might think. And some people, me included, agree that starting with one of these options is a great way to see if you’d even enjoy writing with a fountain pen without risking too much from the wallet. Some of the most popular and most highly recommend choices in this category are:

Pilot 78G – Get started with cartridges, but a converter is also available, and nibs are interchangeable with the Pilot Plumix. It can also be converted to be eyedropper filled (greater ink capacity) quite easily, with no tools required.