What's new

If you're bald on top and shave your head, why?

I know this has been the fashion for many bald guys for some years now but I've never understood the why of the maintenance of shaving your whole head. Cutting it close vs. the godawful combover is one thing but when I see all that's required to taking it all off and having to shave your head every few days, I'm at a loss to understand the why of it. Maybe it's just my age/generation (72).

I'm genuinely curious why men suddenly started doing this. Fashion or?

ERS4

My exploding razor knows secrets
My head hair is still growing normally, but I still maintain the habit of shaving my head.
Because I live in a subtropical island country (Taiwan), it is quite humid and hot, and sweat in my hair is very sticky and uncomfortable in summer. I'm also used to wearing hats in winter, and shaving my hair won't have the problem of my hair being squashed by the hat.

I'm a graphic designer, one of the few professions where people aren't despised because you shave your head, and shaved head styling even enhances the professional impression.

Keeping my head shaved is also a big reason why I convince my wife "I need more good razors" ;)

My head hair is still growing normally, but I still maintain the habit of shaving my head.
Because I live in a subtropical island country (Taiwan), it is quite humid and hot, and sweat in my hair is very sticky and uncomfortable in summer. I'm also used to wearing hats in winter, and shaving my hair won't have the problem of my hair being squashed by the hat.

I'm a graphic designer, one of the few professions where people aren't despised because you shave your head, and shaved head styling even enhances the professional impression.

Keeping my head shaved is also a big reason why I convince my wife "I need more good razors" ;)
Appreciate it, thank you.