What's new

Honemeister Recommendations in London?

Hi,
I think i need to get my razor honed. It's a Dovo, so I'm reluctant to do it myself on this razor as I have no experience. I was going to take it to Taylor's to have honed but I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good honemeister in London to take it to?

I bought it new from Taylor's of old Bond Street (in their shop). I salesman said it was shave ready but, judging by his 12 o clock shadow, I assumed he isn't a straight razor man himself. I can shave with it but I think it could be a little sharper. At any rate, I'd like to send it to someone who knows what they're talking about so they can tell me how sharp sharp is!

Hello Rupert

Sorry about the predicament, but if you cannot shave with it, then it probably isn't sharp enough. Since Taylor has its own barbers they ought to know whether it's shave ready.

I can tell you, if you live in London or work near Moorgate we can meet or you can mail me the razor and I'll tell you if it's shave ready or not.

Cheers

Vincent

If your experience to date in TOBS is not satisfactory I'd suggest you take it elsewhere. I just don't know where as I don't use a straight. yet.

Thanks for the replies. I was thinking of taking it to Trumper's in Mayfair since they seem more geared towards the actual shaving side of things rather than all the toys. I'll let you know how i get on.
Vincent, thanks for the offer. I'll see what the visit to Trumper yields and take it from there.

Hello

I thought you would give it a try with Taylor since they sold the razor as "shave ready" so perhaps you could have them hone it properly for free, I thought it was worth a try....

I think Trumper is more or less the same when it come to selling straight razors...I bought a couple of Dovos from them and neither was "shave ready"....

Cheers