What's new

Geo Trumper disappearing soap

Let me preface by saying I have been using shave brushes with hard soaps since 1979 - nearly 40 years! In the old days I used mostly Williams or Crabtree & Evelyn and did not really know how to form a proper lather; I was mostly shaving with a bubbly soapy mess. I caught the true wetshave bug almost 6 years ago (to include DE razors) and now regularly make great lathers.

The thing is, during this time, I have had incredibly BAD luck with supposedly good hard soaps from T&H and now Trumper. When approaching a hard soap, I regularly go to one of my "Big 3" brushes: a Chubby 2 (BB), Duke 3 (BB), or a WCS Silvertip that falls somewhere between the two Simpsons. So, I don't think the brush is the issue. With my just-purchased puck of Trumper Limes, it doesn't matter what I do -- Load the brush more, try more water, less water, spend more time building it up...I end up with a thin, disappearing lather. (I bowl lather but then do a partial face lather before brushing on additional lather from the bowl) We're talking before I finish the right side of my face, the left side has virtually evaporated and I can clearly see my skin through a thin film. I have to keep re-applying mid-pass. Meanwhile, I'm getting a great lather from Williams I purchased on Amazon as well as Men's Soap Company hard soap I found on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JSXA2YY/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
(This stuff really works quite well).

I really don't get it. I have no problems with the two above-mentioned cheap soaps, and if I use these brushes on a croap or cream I get a virtual lather-bomb. Why can't I get a good lather from the Tumper hard soap?

P.S. I LOVE the trumper creams!

Trumper, Trufitt, and TOBS have outsourced their hard soap production.

Not as good as it once was.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!