What's new

General Observations Newbie and Shave Progress.three week mark! Comments Please

Morning all,

I am new to DE shaving and refuse to give up. Let me list what I am using as it might help with comments/suggestions?

Muhle R89
Merkur Futur
Proraso Green Soap
Arco Soap
Feather Blades
Badger Brush

OK, the brush says it is from the Art of Shaving? With a plastic holder. I don't even remember buying it. My first mistake was mixing the soap to get a lather. I don't have a separate shaving bowl so I have been using a small chrome cat food bowl. You can find them in the grocery store. It seems to work but adding a little water helps to create the lather. I don't seem to have luck going from Proraso bowl to face. Some might do it in videos. I want to try Taylor of Old Bond Street soap. Have fun and try plenty I am sure I will find favorites and do you all really only have two kinds of soaps?

The razors are interesting. Here are the two big newbie questions?

Short Handle verses Long Handle?
Adjustable verses non-adjustable?

And yes I have read the instructions (guidance) and searched the forum. My mind wants to think Long Handle but I don't think it matters. Does one cut you more? I guess it is all in the angle. I am going back to the Muhle short handle today to see.

Adjustable verses Non-Adjustable. There are not too many new adjustable razors out there. Thought about trying a Gillette off eBay. Maybe Fatboy or Slim. But truth be told we find a setting and normally leave it there so again what it the point if you only shave on setting 2 or 3? You are making an adjustable fixed. Unless you change the setting for pass two?

In terms of Open or Closed comb I have just tried the closed ones. And I am sure with practice I can get a good shave with a closed comb. Also was thinking of trying a Merkur Classic. I just want to eliminate the chance of major face damage.