What's new

Fragrance clones - how popular are they?

There are obviously a lot of clones of the more prominent and top tier fragrances. It seems like every popular designer fragrance has clones. My day job is in marketing, and to me, it just doesn't seem like if you are a fragrance house, why you would make a (normally) inferior scent, sell it cheaper, and position your product as a clone of X scent. In marketing and branding, if you are comparing your product to another as 'basically the same thing', you are playing a losing game.

My 2 questions are:

1) How popular are clones compared to the originals? I know most people don't have actual sales numbers, but obviously, this angle has to be slightly effective, otherwise there wouldn't be so many clones.

2) If you had to guess, what percent of top designer and niche fragrances have clones?

Thanks!

edit: Also my first post here!

Welcome to B&B, and thanks for your first post.

No different than any other company that sells knock-offs. As long as you don't pass it off as the original, it's all legal, and profitable.

I know that some of the soaps sold at Stirling are clones of scents like Chanel Bleu, Aventus, and others.

For fragrances that cost over $100/bottle my guess is 90% have a clone.

Fragrances under that? I would guess 50%.

Clones have their place as do the real deal.

If you are just starting out or don't have a lot of pocket change, clones work very well.

Most will not smell exactly like the real deal but they are close enough for people who are not aficionados.

I liken it to people who only drink the top shelf stuff. Top shelf stuff is good and you are getting what you paid for. But there are a lot of things out there that are good but not 'top shelf' good and people drink still drink it.

Hope that makes sense.

Welcome to B&B, and thanks for your first post.