What's new

First Straight Razor

Hi, I've been shaving with a DE razor for almost six months and having so much fun with wet shaving that I have decided to kick up a notch by attempting to shave with a straight razor. My questions for the pros are: What razor would be the best to use for my first try with the cutthroat? And How difficult is to keep a sharp edge on the blade? The honing part is the one that gets me thinking about invest on a nice blade, my dexterity skills are not that great and I might get frustrated and quit. We all know that a dull blade is an unsafe blade and that honing is part of the whole experience but I know my limits. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Marco

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
First off, go for it, Marco!! :thumbup:

Most important, is to get the razor properly honed (Lynn Abrams does a really great job, for example, and there are others on this board who do as well) to start, so you are starting from a good place.

You'll need a strop and (unless you want to always send your razors out for honing) a Norton 4000/8000 stone. Beyond that, you are into 'want' not 'need'.

You can get all that stuff, and a nice TI 5/8 straight here: http://www.classicshaving.com/page/page/846013.htm
I'd also suggest Lynn's DVD, full of great info, and you see how it's done. :thumbup:

Well, you have some good suggestions.

Honemeisters can sharpen the blade for you periodically. Honing is not rocket science, but it's easier for some people and has a learning curve. For a nice edge, you would need a certain collection of stones / pasted paddles, etc. so this adds to the cost. Let me say that it feels great when you hone a razor yourself :biggrin: