What's new

Fire hose strop caution.

So, are strops made from fire hose material that were once used to deliver fire retardants? If not, are you still saying a risk exists?

No idea. Thinking that a cloth used in fighting fires has been treated before being used isn't a stretch either. I don't know for sure. All I'm saying is to think about it. But I'm not on a crusade. Everyone should make their own mind up.

As far as I am aware, linen fire hose was only used for water. The water and pressure soaked the fabric, made it swell, and that's what makes it water tight. So, with that my understanding would be there would be no need for a fire retardant on the exterior of the hose because the hose remains wet while it is in use.

Guys! I'm not a scientist or a doctor. And i don't have the answers. You may or may not have any risk. I don't know. I saw this article and thought bringing it up was a good idea. You use it to strop the thing that goes on your face. And whatever is in the strop is probably airborne .What does it all mean? I don't know. For me it's an unnecessary risk. For you? No idea.

An interesting premise. I too would think the old fire-hose components would not have been used as fire hose previously, and if they had, would have been used with water without the flame retardants in question. But I'm no expert on the subject. Synthetic and rubber-lined fire hose seems to have been introduced more recently. In reading the article as linked, I was under the impression the problem with the flame retardants arose when they began to heat and smoke, not through daily handling. But again, I don't think this would have included the fire hose linen of old.