What's new

Feather Blades

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to wet shaving and have recently bought an Edwin Jaegger DE. I started shaving with a KAI blade and thought the combination was quite weak. I then tried a Feather blade and holy moly did those things cut! By far the closest (in terms of hair length and danger level) shave I have ever had.

What my question is is this: what blade would be between those two in terms of sharpness? I know it's all different for everyone and I will have to see for myself what works best for me, but it would be easier if someone were to point me in a general direction.

Thanks in advance!

Voskhod are not Feather sharp but I prefer the feel compared to Feather. It's kinda hard to explain.

My first Voskhod shave reminded me of an injector or maybe a straight razor. I would describe it as "substantial" or maybe "rigid." Remember that everyone compares their next blade with the one they used the last time so YMMV but I have 180 Voskhod in the blade stash.

I second the recommendation of Gillette 7 o'clock Blacks in terms of sharpness.

The Voskhod is an amazingly smooth blade - not Feather-sharp, but a comfortable and close shave nonetheless. (At nearly the same $/100, I'm starting to think of the Voskhods as an Astra SP killer.)

Have a pack of KAI blades, but haven't tried them yet, so can't weigh in on how they might compare to the Gillette 7oc Blacks...

I second the recommendation of Gillette 7 o'clock Blacks in terms of sharpness.

The Voskhod is an amazingly smooth blade - not Feather-sharp, but a comfortable and close shave nonetheless. (At nearly the same $/100, I'm starting to think of the Voskhods as an Astra SP killer.)

Have a pack of KAI blades, but haven't tried them yet, so can't weigh in on how they might compare to the Gillette 7oc Blacks...

If you would, please let me know where you buy your Voskhod blades in 100 blade lots? Thanks. I've got a tuck, five blades, of Voskhods coming from E-bay.