What's new

Fan vs. Bulb: Why choose one over the other?

Could someone comment on the benefits of using one over the other?

It seems to me that a fan would work better at shorter lofts because a bulb would get too pointy. Also, it seems the fan contacts the soap and face with more surface area. What advantage does the bulb offer?

Thanks!

I'm not a huge expert in this space but I believe you've nailed some of the attributes of the fan shape (affords more contact surface area).

I believe the bulb shape makes for a stiffer, springier brush. That also is an advantage for loading up the brush off a puck of hard soap.

Aesthetics, both look and feel against your face, are definitely different as well.

One advantage of a bulb shape is that you can have a brush with a larger loft with out it being overly floppy. This can be very positive if you like to bowl lather with creams.

Here is the Rudy pictorial....excellent visual of the differences at different lofts.

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?t=143551

I like them both. Recent experiments for me have shown that I prefer the same sort of knot to have the fan set lower than the bulb. So I think that a bulb seems to have a bit extra stiffness from the shorter supporting outer hairs.

I love the way the fan contacts the face evenly, not just the "point" of a bulb. I also love how it wears down a soap evenly, I don't like the wearing down the middle of the puck.

Then again, I have a finest bulb which also performs great.

The replies are interesting, most people have their favorites and their reasons. I have both types in my rotation, I use whatever strikes my fancy at the time, and I get excellent results from either. :thumbup1:

I guess its all a matter of what you like, but I'll go along with the "get both" crowd. Then there won't be any problems. :thumbup1:

I believe the bulb shape makes for a stiffer, springier brush. That also is an advantage for loading up the brush off a puck of hard soap.