What's new

Doing my first restoration - 20mm Finest TGN knot

Since I currently own a M&F Blonde Badger I decided to try Finest in TGN. I've never used or owned a TGN knot before so this is all new to me. I had a 20mm handle that I really liked so I decided this was a great time to give it a shot.

Any suggestions while I wait on my knot to come in?

Check out the Brush Restoration sub section at the top of this forum......it helped me a lot. I have done 3 now. Just go slow and enjoy the fun of making something "new" out of something "old."

I have 2 M&F Blondes and have restored 10 others, all with various TGN knots, mostly finests. There is really no similarity other than the 2-band look. I love 'em all.

From TGN, the finest seems to have the most backbone and a little scritchiness, both qualities I desire. Their Silvertip, while very nice is softer than I like. Their Super badger is really likeable in that it's denser and has very soft tips. A nice knot.

Consider whether you want bulb or fan. As previously stated, loft is a huge factor in what you end up with. There's no right of wrong, just different. I have 24 mm finest at 50 and 53 mm and you wouldn't believe they came from the same planet. I set a 22 mm at 48, same radical difference. Don't set a soft knot too tall or you'll end up with a mop. Also, if you've enough material in the handle, consider enlarging the opening to accommodate a larger knot. For some, bigger is better.

If you wish details or some photos of mine to get some ideas, send me a PM. Good luck. The process is as enjoyable as the results.