What's new

Advice needed on setting a fan synthetic knot into a brush

I'm thinking of setting a knot into a handle for the first time - I've never done this before, and am not particularly good with tools/glues/etc. Having said that . . .

I have a 30 mm Cashmere fan knot (low backbone) from APShaveCo on the way - I like the knot in a bulb, and wanted to try a really big brush so a 30 mm fan seemed like a good idea (I may regret this later, as that's a lot of brush!). I am looking at 2 handles; they are predrilled and come in 13 mm and 17 mm depths.

Per APShaveCo's website, they mention 12-15 mm as a good depth to set a synthetic.

My question: should I go for the 13 mm handle, or the 17 mm? How do you glue a knot down (a pea sized dollop of silicone or epoxy glue)? Is silicone sealant and adhesive the same as silicone glue? How long does it take to cure/before I can use the brush?

Thanks in advance!

I would go with the 17 mm so that I would have the option to set the knot deeper than 13 mm if need be. You can put plastic washers in the handle hole to adjust the loft to your liking. Plastic washers are available in the plumbing section of any hardware store.

Start by securing the knot hair with a rubber band. This will make the knot easier to handle and you'll be less likely to get glue on a stray hair. Then put a bit of silicone adhesive in the bottom of the knot hole and spread it around with a toothpick or similar implement. A pea-sized amount is about right. If you want to increase the loft, add a washer or two or three, depending on how high you want the loft, adding more silicone between each washer. Put silicone atop the last washer and press the knot into the hole, twisting it a bit to make sure it makes good contact with the adhesive. I usually wait at least 24 hours before using it.