What's new

Did we learn something from those technical posts about pre-shave prep?

I can't find the posts about beard strength and hydration and what was ideal.

But, my take-away was that just water was enough (for a couple of minutes). Room-temperature was good, and so was cold water.

I do still use a really *small* amount of regular soap along with some water for my pre-shave.

I don't shower before my shaves.

Apparently, this much should be sufficient.

im no expert and am not sure what thread you are referring to, but i have to imagine it really just depends on what an individual's skin type responds well to. some may need more prep than others to mitigate discomfort. i personally notice a difference when using a pre shave product.

im no expert and am not sure what thread you are referring to, but i have to imagine it really just depends on what an individual's skin type responds well to. some may need more prep than others to mitigate discomfort. i personally notice a difference when using a pre shave product.
I would theorize that some soap would be useful in removing some of the oils off your whiskers, so that water can better penetrate the hairs, and make them more hydrated for cutting with ease.

I would theorize that some soap would be useful in removing some of the oils off your whiskers, so that water can better penetrate the hairs, and make them more hydrated for cutting with ease.

That's the gist of it. Wash your face with mild soap/cleaner to remove the oil film. Let the whiskers soak in water for two or three minutes at least. Warm (not hot) water will speed the process up, but lukewarm or cold water will also work with a bit more time.